FightFans / WWE / History of WWE Royal Rumble Winners

History of WWE Royal Rumble Winners

Last updated

The WWE Royal Rumble, a spectacle of strength, strategy, and surprise, has been a cornerstone of professional wrestling since its inception in 1988.

This annual event, known for its unique format and high stakes, has seen a myriad of wrestlers achieve glory by outlasting dozens of competitors in the ring.

WWE Royal Rumble: The Birth of a Phenomenon

The Royal Rumble’s debut in 1988 marked a new chapter in WWE’s storied history.

Conceived by WWE legend Pat Patterson, the event’s format was revolutionary: a battle royal where participants enter at timed intervals, rather than all starting in the ring at once.

This format not only added an element of unpredictability but also allowed for storytelling and rivalries to unfold in a dynamic setting.

WWE Royal Rumble Winners: A Showcase of Legends

Over the years, the Royal Rumble has been a platform for both established stars and rising talents. Winners of the event often go on to headline WrestleMania, WWE’s flagship event, making a Royal Rumble victory a coveted achievement in a wrestler’s career.

Legends such as Hulk Hogan, Shawn Michaels, and Stone Cold Steve Austin have all emerged victorious, cementing their status in WWE lore.

WWE Royal Rumble: Memorable Moments and Record-Breakers

The Royal Rumble is as much about memorable moments as it is about the winners. From surprise entrants to record-setting performances, each Rumble writes its own unique story.

For instance, Rey Mysterio’s 2006 victory after lasting over an hour in the ring stands as a testament to endurance and skill.

The Evolution of the Royal Rumble

In recent years, the Royal Rumble has evolved to become more inclusive. The introduction of a women’s Royal Rumble match in 2018 was a significant milestone, reflecting WWE’s commitment to its female athletes.

This addition has given rise to new stars and has been instrumental in the women’s wrestling revolution within WWE.

WWE Royal Rumble Winners

Here are the list of winners by decade:


YearDateRumble winner(s)Entry No.
Royal Rumble (1988)January 24, 1988Jim Duggan13
Royal Rumble (1989)January 15, 1989Big John Studd27


YearDateRumble winner(s)Entry No.
Royal Rumble (1990)January 21, 1990Hulk Hogan25
Royal Rumble (1991)January 19, 199124
Royal Rumble (1992)January 19, 1992Ric Flair3
Royal Rumble (1993)January 24, 1993Yokozuna27
Royal Rumble (1994)January 22, 1994Lex Luger23
Bret Hart27
Royal Rumble (1995)January 22, 1995Shawn Michaels1
Royal Rumble (1996)January 21, 199618
Royal Rumble (1997)January 19, 1997Stone Cold Steve Austin5
Royal Rumble (1998)January 18, 199824
Royal Rumble (1999)January 24, 1999Mr. McMahon2


YearDateRumble winner(s)Entry No.
Royal Rumble (2000)January 23, 2000The Rock24
Royal Rumble (2001)January 21, 2001Stone Cold Steve Austin27
Royal Rumble (2002)January 20, 2002Triple H22
Royal Rumble (2003)January 19, 2003Brock Lesnar29
Royal Rumble (2004)January 25, 2004Chris Benoit1
Royal Rumble (2005)January 30, 2005Batista28
Royal Rumble (2006)January 29, 2006Rey Mysterio2
Royal Rumble (2007)January 28, 2007The Undertaker30
Royal Rumble (2008)January 27, 2008John Cena30
Royal Rumble (2009)January 25, 2009Randy Orton8


YearDateRumble winner(s)Entry No.
Royal Rumble (2010)January 31, 2010Edge29
Royal Rumble (2011)January 30, 2011Alberto Del Rio38
Royal Rumble (2012)January 29, 2012Sheamus22
Royal Rumble (2013)January 27, 2013John Cena19
Royal Rumble (2014)January 26, 2014Batista28
Royal Rumble (2015)January 25, 2015Roman Reigns19
Royal Rumble (2016)January 24, 2016Triple H30
Royal Rumble (2017)January 29, 2017Randy Orton23
Royal Rumble (2018)January 28, 2018Shinsuke Nakamura14
Royal Rumble (2019)January 27, 2019Becky Lynch28
Seth Rollins10


YearDateRumble winner(s)Entry No.
Royal Rumble (2020)January 26, 2020Charlotte Flair17
Drew McIntyre16
Royal Rumble (2021)January 31, 2021Bianca Belair3
Royal Rumble (2022)January 29, 2022Ronda Rousey28
Brock Lesnar30
Royal Rumble (2023)January 28, 2023Cody Rhodes30
Rhea Ripley1

FAQs about WWE Royal Rumble Winners

  • What is the WWE Royal Rumble? The WWE Royal Rumble is an annual professional wrestling event where wrestlers compete in a battle royal, with the winner typically receiving a championship match at WrestleMania.
  • When did the first Royal Rumble take place? The first WWE Royal Rumble event took place in 1988.
  • What makes the Royal Rumble unique? The unique format where participants enter the ring at timed intervals, rather than all at once, sets the Royal Rumble apart from other battle royals.
  • Has there always been a women’s Royal Rumble match? No, the women’s Royal Rumble match was introduced in 2018, reflecting WWE’s evolving approach to women’s wrestling.
  • Who are some notable winners of the Royal Rumble? Notable winners include Hulk Hogan, Shawn Michaels, Stone Cold Steve Austin, and Rey Mysterio.
  • What does winning the Royal Rumble signify? Winning the Royal Rumble typically grants the wrestler a championship match at WrestleMania and is considered a prestigious achievement in WWE.
Jake Skudder
Written by
Jake Skudder
Jake is an SEO-minded Combat Sports, Gaming and Pro Wrestling writer and successful Editor in Chief. He has more than ten years of experience covering mixed martial arts, pro wrestling and gaming across a number of publications, starting at SEScoops in 2012 under the name Jake Jeremy.